• In discussing the plan to have a party here for our friends the Crane's who are moving, we prepped the boys for all of the kids who would be at the house.

    Caleb: "I've got a plan.  Jacob you hang out with the boys and play soccer.  And I'll take care of the girls".

  • Caleb has strep throat!  AARRRGHHH!!  I thought having his tonsils out was supposed to eliminate this possiblity – I guess not. 😦

    010

  • 043

    I love those Monday holidays that involve barbecues, pools, family and friends…they make me happy.  But for the last two years I have felt like it was important for me to also help my family "remember" on Memorial Day.  Remember the sacrifice, remember the history, remember the honor that is involved with living in a country like America.  I can't help but think of my Grandpa who fought in WWII and Korea as an Air Force pilot.  It only takes a little bit of time, but I think the pay-off and the feelings of gratitude that we get are definitely worth it.

    032 039

    The most moving part of this trip is always these flags…a flag for every soldier who has died in the most recent wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.  For the Texans, there are TX flags.  For every other, there is an American flag.  And on each flag there is a name, where they are from, and sometimes a small picture.  I always try to read at least a few of the names – and remember that each one had a family, a mom, a dad, a sibling maybe, and a life that was snuffed out too soon. 

    042 061

    070 

    My mom came with us and said a prayer with the big boys by the flags…I love this picture of Caleb looking up at her.  They both felt the solemnity of the moment.

    076 

    049 

    The rest of the day was pure fun – two parties, two sets of great friends, two fabulous meals…we are so spoiled.  Thank you Halls and Hickens for opening your homes and hearts to us. 

    094 095

    040

  • I keep starting to blog about things and then half way through I end it and hit delete because I'm bored.  The life, the events, the "stuff" isn't boring necessarily…just the writing.  I'm bored with my writing right now.  Will try again tomorrow, and the next day, until I can write without feeling 'blah'.  

    Here's what I hope to remember to write about whenever I get my writer's cap back on:

    A fabulous Memorial Day

    Jacob is a Bear

    Allergy Torture

  • "Mom, did you know that there are people who think we came from monks?"

  • We sat around after dinner and were visiting last night.  I was asking the boys what kind of women they want to marry someday.  Short or tall?  Athletic?  Quiet and shy or outgoing? 

    Me: "what color of hair do you think they'll have…brown, blonde or red?" 

    They gave some kind of silly responses.

    So then I asked Derek…"what color of hair did you think your wife would have when you were young?"

    He gave me that "this is a trick question, isn't it?" look.

    And then slowly and deliberately said, "brownish blonde with gray streaks".

    We all got a good laugh out of that…good answer, very good answer!

  • Today while driving I was at a stop light and looked to my right.

    There was a really pretty woman in her 60s (trust me on this – I'm good at guessing ages).  She was in a lovely, Volvo convertible…top down.  Her nails were painted, her hair was short and gray, her sunglasses were designer. 

    And she had a baby car seat in the back seat.

    And there was something about it that I just loved.  A sophisticated grandma…living the good life, carting her grandkids around at the same time.

    Lovely…

    My kids are lucky they have grandmas like that too (although not that old :).

  • I'm not sure what's sweeter…

    1.  Fresh cut flowers from your OWN garden!

    003 

    2.  Fresh squeezed orange juice from your very own juicer!

    002 

    OR

    3.  Your mother bringing over a homecooked Sunday dinner because she "knows you've had a busy weekend and roasts were on sale at the grocery store".

    That one just might take the "sweet" award!

  • Monday morning and I feel like I just darted out of a chute at the horse races!  Hopefully I don't get winded as I round the bend.  But this morning at least I am feeling energetic and productive.  Girls Camp, girlscamp, Girls Camp!  Allergist apptmt, FHE prep (making prayer rocks for kids). PTA budget writing, baseball game organization, and card distribution.  Planning a fun but sad going away party for our friends the Crane's (my plan is simply to invite them over with the ploy of a party and lock them in a room so they can't leave).  Summer vaca plans – we tallied up the budget (hotels, gas and food) for our 3500 mile, 8-stop, trip around the country this summer.  Is it worth spending this much on a 2-week driving trip when you could just go on a Disney Cruise for the same amount?  Hmmm…that's something to think about.

    Had a fun Saturday night with the Hickens and the Dalebouts (and 8 of the 10 kids).  We ate at a fun burger joint in Deep Ellum (Twisted Root Burger Co), and then headed to the Morton Meyerson Symphony Center to see the 5 Browns.  They were incredible – I've never seen hands move that fast on a piano.  I really enjoyed it!  Jacob was on the edge of his seat the whole time and Caleb would point out that he had heard many of the songs before.  Fun times.

    Did I mention that Girls Camp is in 3 weeks?

  • Last night was what my kids call the 2nd best activity of the year…1) Christmas, 2) Father and Son Campout.  They LOVE it.  And, guess what, I love it too!  It is the one evening a year that I get to do whatever I want (insert picture of me doing carpet angels!).  Derek was tempted to take Samuel – but there was something about fire, water and fire ants that caused me to say "why don't you wait one more year?".  So Sam stuck with me, which is fine because he's dreamy (do I dote too much?  afterall, I am his mother!).  So after the guys left, loaded with fishing poles and s'more fixins, I proceeded to try to keep the economy going for at least one more day.  We went shoppin'!  Carters for kids jammies, TJ Maxx where I found 2 dresses ($39 and $15!), Home Goods for a lamp, Payless Shoes because I needed shoes to go with my $15 dress, a stop at Which Wich for dinner where Samuel and I shared a strawberry shake (2-year olds don't share very well) and to Blockbuster for a movie.  Then we came home, visited with the neighbors who were hanging out in the street (we love our neighborhood!) and put Samuel to bed.  Then I settled in to watch Marley & Me (I cried) and eat my Junior Mints (hey – when I splurge, I splurge).  The whole evening was delightfully delightful.

    Around 12 midnight I curled up in bed and turned off my lamp.

    Then the phone rang.  A ringing phone at midnight is always a little scary.  I instantly thought it was my guys.

    It wasn't.  It was "UNKNOWN CALLER" with no one on the other end.  The night before the same Unknown Caller had called 10 times (during my YW Camp Craft Night). 

    It freaked me out a little since I was by myself.  Are they watching me, I thought?  (always a flare for dramatics). 

    I called poor Derek and woke him up.  He loves when I do that.  He reassured me that no one was watching me.

    I fell asleep.

    At exactly 3:15 a.m. I woke up and heard something outside my window…RAIN!  LOUD, HEAVY RAIN.  Lightning.  Thunder.  It wasn't supposed to come until tomorrow, I thought.  I checked the radar on-line…definitely raining where my guys were.  I said a little prayer for them and tried to go back to bed.

    At 3:35 a.m. I was frustrated because I couldn't sleep, so I got up and got a graham cracker and a glass of milk (my personal insomnia medication).  And I was walking in to the study to check the radar again (a bit of a weather junkie), and I realized that since I was the only one in the house I could turn on a light.  As I did, I heard a knocking on the door (from the garage to laundry room).  I about spilled my milk. 

    I walked tentatively to the door, and said "Who is it?" (remember it's the middle of the night and I had thought someone was watching me earlier). 

    "It's me Derek."

    I am way too smart to trust just anyone who stands at my door in the middle of the night and claims to be Derek. :)  So I did what everyone should do? (Remember…middle of the night.)

    "How do I know?" I ask.

    "Honey, it's really me…it's Derek, I don't have a key."

    Oh, good, it really is him!

    And I open the door to find him and Caleb looking very pathetic and tired (Jacob was still in the car).  They decided NOT to weather the storm and come home instead…poor guys. 

    And that's the story of my night.

    Sidenote – Just got back from taking the boys to get Sat morning donuts…it's the least I could do, since they're favorite adventure was cut short.